Madurai Constituency

Madurai Lok Sabha Constituency was one of the Oldest Constituency in Tamilnadu. Madurai North and South State Assemblies are the newly formed State Assemblies during 2008 Delimitaion. M.K. Azhagiri was the sitting MP of the Madurai Constituency. Number of the Electors in the Madurai Constituency is 10,22,421.

Madurai MLA Assembly List

Madurai North

Madurai West

Madurai Central

Madurai East

Madurai South


Past Records of Madurai Constituency

Year Winner Party
1952 S. Balasubramaniam Kodimangalam INC
1957 K. T. K. Thangamani CPI
1962 N.M.R. Subbaraman INC
1967 P. Ramamurthi CPM
1971 R. V. Swaminathan INC
1977 R. V. Swaminathan INC
1980 A. G. Subburaman INC(I)
1984 A. G. Subburaman INC
1989 A. G. S. Ram Babu INC
1991 A. G. S. Ram Babu INC
1996 A. G. S. Ram Babu TMC(M)
1998 Subramanian Swamy JP
1999 P. Mohan CPM
2004 P. Mohan CPM
2009 M. K. Azhagiri DMK
2014 R.Gopalakrishnan ADMK

2014 Winning Margin

Madurai Constituency
Candidate Party Votes
R.GOPALAKRISHNAN All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 454167
V VELUSAMY Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 256731
D SIVAMUTHU KUMAR Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam 147300
T.N.BHARATH NACHIAPPAN Indian National Congress 32143
B.VIKRAMAN Communist Party of India (Marxist) 30108
None of the Above None of the Above 19866
Voting Percentage 65.46%


| Home  | About Madurai | History |Important places | How to Reach | Where to stay | Important Temples | Tourist Info | Contact Us  |